Today, I work on thankful

You know those days that are just long? Like looooonnnnnnggggg long? Like when you get home, it feels like it’s been 84 1/2 hours since you begrudgingly extricated yourself from your bed long?

Yeah, today was one of those.

It was a lot of things. But mostly, I was just really sad not to be in school today.

I know, I know, you can just award me the nerd gold medal now. I’ll stand atop the dais, clutching my Greek lexicon in one hand and Harry Potter in the other, standing between the kid who memorized 107 digits of pi and the red-mohawked NASA engineer, while the Dr. Who theme song fills the air. And I will be proud.

Seriously though, after a lifetime of getting to think and read and learn and write and study all the time, work feels really anti-climactic.


But in an effort to replace my melancholic musings with something more reflective of my enormously blessed life, here are a few things for which I am thankful:

  • My job. I have a job, with people that I really like. I can pay my rent and student loans and buy food without having to worry, and that is such a blessing.
  • My fantastic friends who research cake bakers and price decorations, who drive three hours to spend the weekend helping me and offer assistance from hundreds of miles away. You guys make me feel so loved.
  • I got to spend 18 years in school, where I could study art history and chemistry and OT devotional lit and Greek, just because I wanted to and it fascinated me. How many people in the world get that kind of opportunity?
  • I now have a built-in best friend that I always get to move with, so I don’t ever have to start completely over. And when I’ve had a long day, I can just go over to his apartment and make dinner and sit on his couch and be home.
  • Highland puts their podcasts on iTunes, so I don’t have to miss Jonathan’s sermons. (PS if anyone was at Highland a week from yesterday, and remembers what made Jonathan laugh hysterically for like a full minute, I really want to know what is was. Please share.)
  • God, in his wisdom, gave us coffee beans, full of caffeine, so that when I stay up too late reading, I can still function the next day. And I am thankful.

Here’s where I should add a lovely quote about gratitude by Ann Voskamp, but I’m tired, and I have to be at work early tomorrow, so you can just substitute whatever you would like to read here.

2 thoughts on “Today, I work on thankful

  1. You have such good thoughts! I’ve been thinking about lots about this too, enjoying life rather than being unsatisfied. But…to answer your undying curiosity about Jonathon’s sermon: about the 15 min mark, he talks about large churches and then says something about “large people” instead of a large group of people…I didn’t catch it at the time, but obviously other people did :)

  2. Hahaha. Thanks, Sarah!! I couldn’t quite catch it on the podcast, and his reaction made me feel like I was missing the world’s greatest joke. :) Hope you guys are doing well!

Leave a Reply

